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Part 1: What is the State Prevailing Wage?
The State Prevailing Wage applies to construction projects in Vermont funded 
through the “Capital Construction Act.” 
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The State Prevailing Wage requirement today

• All employees working on construction projects, as defined below, 
shall be paid no less than 
• the mean (average) prevailing wage determined by the Vermont Department 

of Labor plus 

• 42.5 percent Fringe Benefit component (payable in benefits or wages). 

• Definition of construction project: Any project authorized or funded, 
in whole or part, by the State of Vermont "Capital Construction Act,” 
29 V.S.A. Section 161(b), and 
• which costs more than $100,000 or 

• is at least 50% funded by this Act and costs more than $200,000
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Vermont has three Prevailing Wage areas

• The State Prevailing Wage may differ by 
occupation across three geographic areas
• Burlington-South Burlington Metropolitan 

New England City and Town Area (NECTA) 

• Southern Vermont Area 

• Northern Vermont Area 

• Registered apprentices may be paid a wage that
is a percentage of the prevailing wage for the 
apprenticed occupation
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The State Prevailing Wage rates are published 
each year
• The Vermont Department of Labor issues an annual report:

• http://www.vtlmi.info/Vermont-State-Construction-Prevailing-Wage-Rate-
Schedule-2021.pdf

• Today’s mean prevailing wage rates are effective July 1, 2021 –
June 30, 2022 and were established in 2016. 

• The current Vermont Prevailing Wage rates are based on 2020 
Occupational Employment and Wage Survey estimates. 
• They will be updated July 1, 2022 using 2021 Occupational Employment and 

Wage Survey estimates.
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Occupation 

Code
Occupation Title Burl-So.Burl So. Vermont No. Vermont

$/hr. $/hr. $/hr.

47-2061 Construction Laborers 19.36 18.21 18.22

49-9051
Electrical Power-Line Installers 

and Repairers
42.24 42.30 40.10

47-3012 Helpers--Carpenters 17.06 16.07 16.94

47-2231 Solar Photovoltaic Installers 23.08 23.08 23.08

17-1022 Surveyors 30.34 41.87 23.67

Note: Fringe benefits (or cash) of 42.5 percent of wage rate are required as well.

Source: Vermont Dept. of Labor, Vermont State Construction Prevailing Wage Rate Schedule 2021.

Selected Vermont Prevailing Wage Rates, July 1, 2021 - June 30, 2022



Part 2: What are Davis-Bacon wage rates?
Davis-Bacon wages generally apply to federally-funded projects.
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The Davis-Bacon Act applies to federal 
government projects
• The Davis-Bacon Act applies to each federal government contract in excess 

of $2,000 for the construction, alteration, or repair (including painting and 
decorating) of public buildings or public works. 
• Many federal laws that authorize federal assistance for construction through grants, 

loans, loan guarantees, and insurance are Davis-Bacon “related Acts.”

• Davis-Bacon takes precedence over the State Prevailing Wage if both apply 
to a project.

• The Davis-Bacon "prevailing wage" is the combination of the basic hourly 
rate and any fringe benefits listed in a Davis-Bacon wage determination. 
• The contractor’s obligation to pay at least the prevailing wage listed in the contract 

wage determination can be met by paying each laborer and mechanic the applicable 
prevailing wage entirely as cash wages or by a combination of cash wages and 
employer-provided bona fide fringe benefits. 
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Examples of Davis-Bacon wages in Vermont

• The particular wage rate can be a union rate (current union 
negotiated rate for local workers), a survey rate (weighted average 
rate), or a union average rate (weighted union average rate).

• Here are some contract rates for Vermont, published Jan. 7, 2022:

• Chittenden County, multi-family building construction project
• Electrician: $26.10 rate plus 9.25% + $7.70 fringes (union rate)

• Laborer, common or general: $13.11 plus $3.52 fringes (survey rate)

• Bennington County, building construction project
• Carpenter: $32.39 plus $23.43 fringes (union rate)

• Plumber: $24.04 plus $8.25 fringes (survey rate)
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Note that projects funded only through ARPA are 
explicitly not subject to Davis-Bacon wages

• FAQs released by the U.S. Treasury regarding the State and Local 
Fiscal Recovery Programs for ARPA are clear:

• “The Davis-Bacon Act requirements do not apply to projects funded 
solely with award funds from the Coronavirus State and Local Fiscal 
Recovery Funds (CSFRF/CLFRF) program.”

• Projects may be subject to Davis-Bacon when CSFRF/CLFRF award 
funds are used on a construction project in conjunction with funds 
from another federal program that requires enforcement of the Davis-
Bacon Act.
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Part 3: How do adjacent states handle 
prevailing wages?
New Hampshire does not use a prevailing wage, but New York and Massachusetts 
do.
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Prevailing Wage in adjacent states

• NH remains the only state in New England that does not require 
prevailing wage on state-funded projects, and one of 24 states 
nationally without a statewide prevailing wage law.
• In July 2019, New Hampshire Gov. Sununu vetoed legislation that would have 

imposed prevailing wage requirements on state projects for the first time 
since the law was repealed in 1985.

• NY State sets its prevailing wage by class of worker and county, with 
many counties lumped together using the same prevailing wage.

• Massachusetts prevailing wage rates must be paid by contractors who 
register with the State for a State-funded project in a specified 
location.
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Part 4: What is the Pearson amendment 
to the BAA ?
The Pearson amendment requires the State Prevailing Wage be paid to workers on 
construction projects funded with ARPA money of $200,000 or more.
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The Pearson amendment to the BAA

• All construction employees working on maintenance, construction, or 
improvement projects that receive $200,000 or more funded by the 
American Rescue Plan Act (ARPA) must be paid the mean State Prevailing 
Wage plus an additional fringe benefit of 42.5 percent of the wage.

• The State Prevailing wage requirement would not apply to a project that 
has been invited or advertised for bid, is under contract, or already has 
obligated funds as of the effective date of the act.

• JFO is unable to estimate a fiscal impact for the amendment because of 
data constraints and unknown ARPA funding for construction projects 
going forward. 
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Considerations for lawmakers
• The most recent State Prevailing Wage is based on 2020 wage data from 

the Occupational Employment Survey and apply until July 1, 2022. 
• Tight labor market conditions make it unlikely that wages are below the State 

Prevailing Wage based on 2020 wage data.

• 29 VSA 161 already requires benefits of 42.5 percent when the contract is 
$200,000 or more and at least 50 percent funded through the Capital Bill or 
for State-funded projects that exceed $100,000.

• Until future projects are defined, it’s not possible to know whether 
requiring the State Prevailing Wage would affect the cost.

• If the administrative burden is kept low by applying no enforcement 
mechanism, workers would have to come forward with claims of under-
payment to benefit from the Amendment. 

• See JFO Fiscal Note: https://ljfo.vermont.gov/assets/Publications/House-
Bills/88589db9f9/H_679_Fiscal_Note_prevailing_wage_amendment-v2.pdf
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Thank you!
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